करंट टॉपिक्स

Men of many firsts – Satwik-Chirag becomes the first pair of shuttlers to receive Major Dhyan Khel Ratna Award

Spread the love

New Delhi. Bharat’s badminton stars Chirag Shetty and Satwiksairaj Rankireddy won the Major Dhyan Khel Ratna award, announced the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports announced the National Sports Awards 2023.

Based on the recommendations of the Committee and after due scrutiny, the government decided to confer awards upon sportspersons, coaches, and entities.

The awardees will receive their awards from the President of Bharat at a specially organized function at Rashtrapati Bhavan on January 9, 2024 (Tuesday).

For the unversed, Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award is Bharat’s highest sporting honour given to sportspersons with spectacular and outstanding performances in the field of sports over last four years.

Chirag Shetty and Satwiksairaj Rankireddy rose to the top of the BWF rankings earlier this year in October after winning the gold medal at the Asian Games in Hangzhou. The duo has been exceptional since 2022 winning five BWF World tour titles, including the Indian Open, French Open, Swiss Open, Indonesia Open, and Korea Open.

First Bharatiya doubles pair to be world no. 1

First Bharatiya Men Doubles pair to win Commonwealth Games gold

First Bharatiya Men Doubles pair to win medal at World Championships

First Bharatiya to win World Tour 750 and 1000 events

Part of first-time Thomas Cup champion team

The five stunning titles they bagged this year are –

Swiss Open Super 300

Badminton Asia Championships

Indonesia Open Super 1000

Korea Open Super 500

Asian Games gold

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *